There’s a new blog in town – put out an APB…

Welcome to my new blog; let’s get started ­čśë I’ve been blogging with WordPress for a while now, and have 2 other blogs that get mediocre followings. Yay! I have followings! There are many thoughts Ive had on many different MMO games out there that I’ve played, not played and thought of playing that don’t get blogged about usually, so I decided it was time to make yet another one where I could vent my thoughts and opinions on THOSE subjects where nobody wants to hear them.

So here it is ^_^

Today I got access to the new APB Reloaded open beta. I’ll be blogging more about it as I get a better feel for the game, but my first initial impressions are mixed; remember, though, that these are impressions of the first day of Beta, and the game can still see lots of changes as it nears launch.

APB Reloaded had actually launched originally just as APB under a different publisher, but I don’t think it was F2P at the time. Short story is they folded quickly, and the servers were shut off. They were then bought by GamerFirst, who is now releasing it as a F2P title with a cash shop; I think they knew a cash-shop diamond mine when they saw it; smart move on their part.

The game is frikkin gorgeous, especially for a F2P game. There are a lot of customization options, and the graphics engine is absolutely stunning. The clothing options I’ve seen in ads and videos make me drool, and when I got in game, even the basic t-shirt and sweatpants I started with looked frikkin sweet. There’s style and weapon options galore, a lot of which need to be not just bought with in-game currency, but unlocked as you progress through the ranks.

The options for appearance can be pretty damn wild.The game seems simple enough, and the audio is pretty gorgeos – there is a first gripe in there, though. The voice-overs done for the mission NPCs is quite┬ádifficult┬áto hear over the sounds of the rest of the game. There was an option in the settings menue to turn on subtitles, but after turning it on, I still could not see any subtitles. From what I understand, there was vital mission info being given by these VOs, and I was very irritated that I could barely make out the guys voice. The VOs overall were rather well performed for the most part, and I look forward to finding out just how much was done.

The gameplay was pretty standard for FPS fair, which surprised me┬ápleasantly. I didn’t have time today to get into any actual firefights, so I’ll post an update post at a later date. The rest of the mission gameplay that I was┬áable to play with was simple yet fun; I actually enjoyed hopping over fences, and the control layout felt pretty intuitive. Using the F key to perform actions with the environment came naturally after all my time playing STO. ┬áThere was a lot of the UI that I did get pretty confused by, and I have to say the tutorial was pretty disappointing in the lack of info it gave, especially of the UI.

So far, this game has a lot of potential, and is already off to a strong start. I’m curious to see how actual combat and missions play out, but I’ll have to dive into that later this week. Until next time, keep those dreams building.

2 thoughts on “There’s a new blog in town – put out an APB…

Leave a Reply

